2 comments on “Easter, the Bible, and the Translation of the Quran

  1. Great post. I made it to the end. Do I win a prize? I have read pieces of the Koran, but not the whole book. I agree with you that Salvation seems like a gamble in the Islam religion. Only Allah can save, but he is not approachable. How do people know if he is going to save there. There is no atoning sacrifice and it is up to the individual to live a life of righteousness. Most of us know our own hearts and we know where we fall short. Without the grace of Jesus there is not hope. I can see why some “radicals” go to extreme measures of terrorism. They are looking for eternal hope and they think a suicide mission will give them that.

    I understand that this is something that you started because of a class. I am curious where you think you will use it in the future?

    Also if you would like some better statistics for Christians other than atheismresource.com, look up Dr. Ed Stetzer from Life Way. He just published some great stats on the American Church and he provides some insight on the lack of discipline that they have.

  2. Sorry it has taken me so long to reply. No John, you don’t get a prize. To be truthful, I don’t know specifically how I will use this in the future, but I am definitely interested in reading other religious text and seeing where they agree and disagree with Christianity. Though this project I realized how little I know about other worldviews and how I am really in position to speak with authority about another worldview. And that frightens me… thank you for the site for more statistic- I am sure I will be able to use them in the future for a project or two.

Leave a comment